Language Accessibility Advisory Committee



The Language Accessibility Advisory Committee (LAAC) was established in 2016 to advise the Secretary of State (SOS) on issues related to language accessibility of elections and election materials. The mission of the LAAC is to advise and assist the SOS with implementation of federal and state laws relating to access of the electoral process by low English proficiency (LEP) voters, so that all voters can understand the voting process. The LAAC also provides recommendations identifying and prioritizing activities, programs, and policies to ensure every voter has equal access to the ballot.

The responsibilities of the committee include:

  1. Providing expertise on language accessibility issues.
  2. Promoting language accessibility initiatives.
  3. Responding to the Secretary of State’s questions regarding language


The next meeting of the LAAC:

Date: Thursday, October 4, 2018

Time: 1:00 p.m.


  • Secretary of State
  • 2nd Floor Boardroom
  • 1500 11th Street
  • Sacramento, CA 95814

Agenda (PDF)

Notes and minutes from past meetings


Secretary of State's Office
Izchel Montelongo


The committee can be reached at the LAAC email,, or by postal mail at

  • LAAC
  • 1500 11th Street, Floor 5
  • Sacramento, CA 95814

Current Members

Appointed members serving from 2016-2018

  • Deanna Kitamura, Co-Chair
  • Los Angeles, CA
  • Ofelia Medina
  • Los Angeles, CA
  • Maria de la Luz Garcia
  • Long Beach, CA
  • Joshua Alegado
  • Pasadena, CA
  • Jose Verduzco
  • Ivanhoe, CA
  • Cathy Zhang
  • San Francisco, CA
  • Jill LaVine, Registrar of Voters
  • Designee: Armando Salud
  • Sacramento County
  • Claudio Valenzuela, Registrar of Voters
  • Designee: Greta Arevalo
  • Monterey County
  • Joseph E. Canciamilla, Clerk, Recorder and Registrar of Voters
  • Designee: Eren Mendez
  • Contra Costa County
  • Astrid Garcia Ochoa, Co-Chair
  • Hollywood, CA
  • Primo J. Castro
  • La Habra Heights, CA
  • Noemi Gallardo
  • Sacramento, CA
  • Zulma Michaca
  • Sacramento, CA
  • Joe Long
  • Riverside, CA
  • Melissa Sesma
  • Salinas, CA
  • Teddy Ky-Nam Miller
  • Oakland, CA
  • Rebecca Spencer, Registrar of Voters
  • Designee: Leticia Flores
  • Riverside County
  • Dean C. Logan, Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk
  • Designee: Tim McNamara
  • Los Angeles County

Local LAAC's

Local elections officials are encouraged to develop local language advisory groups or Local LAACs. The LAAC is currently surveying counties to see which have active advisory groups. 

County Language Accessibility Advisory Committee Toolkit (PDF)

This toolkit offers guidelines and practices to help county elections offices establish a LAAC and create a meaningful and helpful role for it to serve the limited English proficient voters of your community.