Appointed members serving from 2019-2021


Armando Salud (Yolo County)

Born in Michoacán Mexico, Armando immigrated to the U.S. with his parents at the age of 8 months to the small town of Arbuckle, CA. Armando received his Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice from California State University, Sacramento in 2014 and is looking to pursue a master’s degree in Public Policy & Administration. Armando’s interest in elections started while working as a student assistant for the Elections Division of the Secretary of State’s office in 2009. His passion for civic education is what pushes him to get involved and to help communities in need. As a LAAC member and naturalized U.S. Citizen, he believes he can provide great insight and ensure that the LAAC does its part in helping to educate the community on the importance of voting.

Maria de la Luz Garcia (Office of Mayor Eric Garcetti)

Maria de la Luz Garcia has over a decade of work experience as elections administrator. In that capacity, she has overseen various multilingual services operations including translating election materials into 11 non-English languages, recruiting bilingual poll workers and working with community organizations to ensure election materials are accurate and accessible. She currently serves as the Director of Census for the Office of Mayor Eric Garcetti where she is responsible for leading Census 2020 outreach and education efforts in the City of Los Angeles by overseeing the translation of all outreach materials into 12 non-English languages. She is fluent in Spanish.

Ky-Nam Miller (MTC and ABAG)

Kỳ-Nam Miller is the Assistant Director for Public Engagement for the Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) and the Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG). MTC is the San Francisco Bay Area’s transportation planning, financing and coordinating agency. Previously he had leadership roles at non-profit organizations and as aide to Congresswoman Barbara Lee. A California bar-certified attorney, Ky-Nam received his master’s from the London School of Economics and graduated with honors from University of California, Berkeley. He is fluent in French and speaks basic Spanish and Vietnamese.

Clarissa Laguardia

Clarissa is an immigrant born and raised in El Salvador during the Salvadoran civil war. Clarissa has 15 years of translation experience in areas such as medical, community and conference interpretation. Clarissa graduated with honors and earned a B.A. degree in Communication Studies with emphasis on Intercultural and International Communication from California State University, Sacramento and is in the process of earning a master’s degree in Public Policy and Administration. As a linguist, she holds certification by the National Board of Certification for Medical Interpreters (NBCMI), where she served as Board Director. Has worked at University of California, Davis Health System as a medical interpreter and was a Governor Jerry Brown appointee to the 2020 Census. Clarissa serves on her local LAAC and actively supports local and national organizations that promote cultural diversity, inclusion, civic engagement, social justice, language access and equity for all members of society.

Sunghee Richard Park (CAUSE)

As Manager of Voter Engagement at the Center for Asian Americans United for Self-Empowerment (CAUSE), Richard manages the organization’s voter engagement program. He has organized voter education workshops in Koreatown and Chinatown, providing residents with court-certified in-language presentations and translators available to answer questions and assist with voter registration. Before CAUSE, Richard worked at Senator Ben Allen’s office, as well as the Jesse Gabriel for Assembly campaign. Richard graduated from the University of California, Berkeley with a Bachelor’s in Political Science. Richard is fluent in both Korean.

Eren Mendez (Contra Costa County)
Martinez, CA

Dean Logan/Tim McNamara (Los Angeles County)
Norwalk, CA

Ayna Gutiérrez (Monterey County)
Salinas, CA

Deanna Kitamura (Asian Americans Advancing Justice - Asian Law Caucus)
Los Angeles, CA

Cathy Zhang
San Francisco, CA

Primo J. Castro
La Habra Heights, CA

Gurjatinder Randhawa
Elk Grove, CA

Karlyn Kurichety
Los Angeles, CA

Ardashes Ardy Kassakhian
Glendale, CA

Ana Paula Noguez Mercado
Los Angeles, CA

Nicole Callaway (Sacramento County)
Sacramento, CA