On September 27, 2021, the Governor signed Assembly Bill 796 which added Section 2275 to California Elections Code and  requires the Secretary of State to establish a taskforce to consult with the Secretary of State and the Department of Motor Vehicles on the effective implementation of the California New Motor Voter Program.

This Taskforce shall remain in effect until January 1, 2025, unless a later enacted statute that is enacted before January 1, 2025, that deletes or extends that date.

The responsibilities of the Task Force include:

Review trends of voter’s registration through the California New Motor Voter Program for the purpose of consulting on the development of the Secretary of State’s annual report described in Elections Code section 2276.

Consult on the Secretary of State’s analysis of the statistics and information from the monthly report as required by Election Code section 2274 which includes the number of registrations, notices sent to customers and any system irregularities.

Consult with the Secretary of State on its review of any significant errors or delays during the preceding year with respect to processing or transmitting the records specified in subdivision (b) of Section 2265, and how those incidents were resolved.

Upcoming Meetings


Past Meetings

Annual Report

Elections Code section 2276 requires the Secretary of State (SOS), in consultation with the Department of Motor Vehicles and the Motor Voter Task Force to annually review and report on the effectiveness of the California New Motor Voter Program (Elections Code Sections 2260-2277). 


  • Secretary of State's Office, Information Technology Division
  • Secretary of State's Office, Elections Division


Appointed members serving since 2022

Russia Chavis Cardenas
California Common Cause

John Gardner
Solano County

Rosalind Gold
NALEO Educational Fund

Deanna Kitamura
Asian Americans Advancing Justice - Asian Law Caucus (ALC)

Whitney Quesenbery
Center for Civic Design

Dora Rose
League of Women Voters of CA

Paul R. Spencer
Disability Rights California

Brittany Stonesifer
ACLU of Northern California

Neal Ubriani
Institute for Responsive Government

Tricia Webber
Santa Cruz County

Jacqueline Wu
J Wu Consulting