Elections Code section 13218(a) and (b) requires the Secretary of State (SOS) to establish a ballot design advisory committee to assist the SOS to promulgate regulations that prescribe ballot design and format. The ballot design advisory committee shall consist of the SOS, or the secretary’s designee, and members to be appointed by the SOS who are recognized ballot design experts and county elections officials or a designee of a county elections official. Each recognized ballot design expert shall have demonstrated experience with ballot design requirements and knowledge of presenting election materials to voters using plain language methods or another method that is easy for voters to access and understand.

The responsibilities of the committee include:

  • 1. Providing expertise on ballot design and format issues.
  • 2. Assist the SOS in promulgating regulations that prescribe ballot design and format.
  • 3. Answering Secretary of State questions regarding ballot design and format issues.


The next meeting of the BDAC:

Date: Thursday, August 25, 2022

Time: 2:30 p.m.

Agenda (PDF)

BDAC Report (PDF)

Notes and minutes from past meetings


  • Secretary of State's Office, Elections Division
  • Kirsten Larsen
    (916) 653-9154

The committee can be reached at the BDAC email, BDAC@sos.ca.gov, or by postal mail at:

  • BDAC
  • 1500 11th Street, 5th Floor
  • Sacramento, CA 95814


Appointed members serving since 2021

  • Annette Lim
  • Yolo County
  • Brian Ikenaga
  • Los Angeles County
  • Christopher Neubauer
  • Election Systems and Software
  • Dave Haines
  • K&H Election Services
  • David Magedson
  • Hart InterCivic
  • Hang Nguyen
  • Sacramento County
  • James Lasby
  • San Bernardino County
  • James Wight
  • Orange County
  • Jennifer Tagg
  • San Mateo County
  • Joanna Francescut
  • Shasta County
  • John Gardner
  • Solano County
  • Karen Rhea
  • Dominion Voting Systems
  • Kathy Styles
  • Stanislaus County
  • Kelly Sanders
  • Humboldt County
  • Liz Oviedo
  • Santa Clara County
  • Maria Valadez
  • Lake County
  • Marina Ortega
  • Merced County
  • Natalie Adona
  • Nevada County
  • Stephanie Hill
  • Tulare County
  • Stephen Aye
  • Placer County
  • Travis Ebbert
  • Contra Costa County
  • Victor Chavarin Jr.
  • Kings County
  • Whitney Quesenberry
  • Center for Civic Design