Statement of Information Help

Statement of Information E-File Logo

The required Statement of Information for most corporations can be submitted electronically and is processed generally in one business day. A free PDF copy of the filed Statement of Information will be returned electronically following confirmation of payment, if an email address is provided at the time of submission. Additional plain copies and certified copies may be requested at a later time by mail or in person (drop off). Refer to Information Requests for information about obtaining additional copies.

 

Note: Statements of Information for limited liability companies and common interest developments must be submitted on paper, by mail or in person (drop off), at this time.


Topics of Interest


Filing Periods

  • Domestic stock and agricultural cooperative corporations must file a complete Statement of Information (Form SI-550) within the first 90 days of filing the Articles of Incorporation, after which a Statement of Information is due every year. See Filing Schedule.
  • Domestic nonprofit corporations must file a complete Statement of Information (Form SI-100) within the first 90 days of filing the Articles of Incorporation, after which a Statement of Information is due every two years (every odd year or every even year based on year of initial registration). See Filing Schedule.
    • Note: Credit unions and general cooperative corporations are required to file every year instead of every two years.
    • Filing tip: If the corporation's Articles of Incorporation were originally filed with the California Secretary of State in an even-numbered year, file the SI-100 (and SI-CID, if applicable) every even-numbered year. If the corporation originally filed Articles of Incorporation with the California Secretary of State in an odd-numbered year, file every odd-numbered year.
  • Foreign corporations must file a complete Statement of Information (Form SI-550) within the first 90 days of filing the Statement and Designation by Foreign Corporation, after which a Statement of Information is due every year. See Filing Schedule.
  • Limited liability companies must file a complete Statement of Information (Form LLC-12) within the first 90 days of filing the Articles of Organization or Application to Register, after which a Statement of Information is due every two years (every odd year or every even year based on year of initial registration). See Filing Schedule.
    • Filing tip: If the limited liability company's Articles of Organization or Application to Register was originally filed with the California Secretary of State in an even-numbered year, file the LLC-12 every even-numbered year. If the limited liability company originally filed with the California Secretary of State in an odd-numbered year, file every odd-numbered year.

In addition, any time there are information changes in between statutory filing periods, an updated statement should be filed.

Failure to file the required Statement of Information with the Secretary of State as outlined in statute may result in penalties being assessed by the Franchise Tax Board and suspension or forfeiture.

Back to Top


Tips for Filing Online

The statement for most corporations can be submitted electronically and is processed generally in one business day. A free PDF copy of the filed Statement of Information will be returned electronically following confirmation of payment, if an email address is provided at the time of submission.

Note: Statements for limited liability companies and common interest developments must be submitted on paper, by mail or in person (drop off), at this time. Please visit Statements of Information to obtain forms to submit by paper.

To file online, users will need:

  • Internet Explorer version 8 or later.
  • A valid Visa or MasterCard.
  • Software to view PDF/A files if a free electronic copy is requested.

A statement is not submitted for filing until after the credit card payment has been accepted, and the payment confirmation screen is displayed. The payment confirmation screen provides the ability to enter an email address for a free PDF copy. Statements are normally filed within 1 business day and, if requested, electronic copies are sent out within 3 business days.

The returned electronic copy will be in a secure PDF/A format. Forms may appear blank if viewed with software that is incompatible with the file format, or when viewed on cell phones or tablets. The Secretary of State recommends viewing the return copies on a desktop, laptop or notebook computer.

Note: If "no change" is selected, the "no change" box on the form image will be checked and the form will only display the entity name, the corporation number, the date submitted, and the name and title of the submitter.

Back to Top


Tips for Filing Corporation Statements of Information

  • Include the appropriate filing fee when submitting Statements of Information. Filing fees are available on Forms, Samples and Fees. If a statement is being filed to update any information on a previously filed statement and is being filed outside the statutory filing period, no fee is required. If filing the statutory required statement, the total filing fee is $25 for stock corporations and $20 for non-stock corporations.
  • The name of the corporation must be entered exactly as it is registered with the California Secretary of State. The name and entity number can be researched on Business Search.
  • If the agent for service of process of the entity has changed or resigned, a fully completed statement must be submitted.
  • For California stock, agricultural cooperatives and foreign corporations, if a current fully completed Statement of Information has been filed previously with the Secretary of State’s office and no changes need to be made on the current required statement, a Statement of No Change (Form SI-550 NC) can be submitted. If ANY changes have occurred since the last fully completed Statement of Information was filed, a new fully completed Statement of Information (Form SI-550) must be submitted. Please read and follow the instructions on each form.
  • Addresses must be completed with the city, state and zip. The submitted form will be returned unfiled if an address is incomplete or if a P.O. Box is entered as a street address.
  • Corporations must have all three statutory officers. (Chief Executive Officer, Secretary and Chief Financial Officer.) Comparable titles may be added, but the preprinted titles on the form must not be altered. Each officer must have a complete business or residential address.
  • A complete California street address is required for an agent for service of process. The submitted form will be returned unfiled if a P.O. Box is entered as the agent address. If the entity named as agent is a corporation, it must meet the requirements of California Corporations Code section 1505. A corporation cannot act as its own agent.
  • The type of business entered must be specific to the type of business in which the corporation currently is engaged.
  • The information on the form must be legible for scanning. Either type or write the information neatly.
  • The most current forms are available at Statements of Information. Submissions on incorrect or outdated forms will be returned unfiled.
  • The required Statement of Information for most corporations can be submitted online and is processed generally in one business day.
  • If the entity is a Common Interest Development, the CID box on the Form SI-100 must be checked and both the Statement by Common Interest Development (Form SI-CID) and Form SI-100 must be submitted on paper, by mail or in person, with appropriate fees.

Back to Top


Tips for Limited Liability Company (LLC) Statements of Information

  • Include the appropriate filing fee when submitting Statements of Information. Filing fees are available on Forms, Samples and Fees. If a statement is being filed to update any information on a previously filed statement and is being filed outside the statutory filing period, no fee is required. If filing the statutory required statement, the filing fee is $20.
  • The name of the limited liability company must be entered exactly as it is registered with the California Secretary of State. The name and entity number can be researched on Business Search.
  • The jurisdiction must match the Secretary of State's records. The jurisdiction can be researched on Business Search.
  • If a current fully complete Statement of Information has been filed previously with the Secretary of State’s office and no changes need to be made to the information provided on the current filed fully complete Statement of Information, a Statement of No Change (Form LLC-12NC) can be submitted. If ANY changes have occurred to the information provided on the current fully complete Statement of Information, a new fully complete Statement of Information (Form LLC-12) must be submitted. Please read and follow the instructions on each form.
  • Addresses must be completed with city, state and zip. The submitted form will be returned unfiled if an address is incomplete or if a P.O. Box is entered as a street address.
  • Every limited liability company is required to have at least one member. If no manager is appointed or elected, all members are managers. Each listed manager or member-manager must have a complete business or residential address.
  • A complete California street address is required for an individual named as agent for service of process. The submitted form will be returned unfiled if a P.O. Box is entered as the agent’s address. If the named agent is a corporation, the corporation must have a current California Corporations Code section 1505 registration on file with the California Secretary of State.
  • Provide the general type of business or service in which the limited liability company is engaged or will be engaged.
  • The information on the form must be legible for imaging. Either type or write the information neatly.
  • The most current forms are available at Statements of Information. Submissions on incorrect or outdated forms will be returned unfiled.

Back to Top


Filing Schedule

After the initial statement is filed, the following chart can be used to determine the filing period when subsequent statements are due.

The incorporation, registration, formation or conversion date of an entity is listed under "Date Filed" on the Business Search.

Domestic stock, agricultural cooperatives, credit unions, general cooperatives and all foreign corporations must file a statement every year. Domestic nonprofit corporations and all limited liability companies must file a statement every two years.

Filing tip for entities that must file every two years: If the entity's year of incorporation, registration, formation, or conversion was an even numbered year, file every even numbered year. If the year of incorporation, registration, formation, or conversion was an odd numbered year, file in every odd year.

Statutory Required 6 Month Filing Window

Month of Incorporation,
Registration, Formation, or Conversion
Statement of Information Filing Period
First day ofThrough last day of
January August January
February September February
March October March
April November April
May December May
June January June
July February July
August March August
September April September
October May October
November June November
December July December

Statements to update information on a previous filing and submitted outside the statutory filing period must be submitted on paper. Statements submitted on paper should be directed to the Secretary of State's office in Sacramento, either by mail or delivered in person. Current processing times for paper forms may be found on Processing Times.

Back to Top