Secretary of State Kevin Shelley has appointed an advisory committee to assist with the development of California's State Plan for complying with the new mandates of the federal Help America Vote Act of 2002 (HAVA). The following citizens are on the HAVA Committee:

Rob Mckay (Chair) McKay Foundation
Michael Alvarez Prof. of Political Science, California Institute of Technology; Caltech/MIT Voting Technology Project
Harley Augustino Coalition for a Living Wage
Bob Balgenorth State Building and Construction Trades Council
Ardis Bazyn California Council of the Blind
Miguel Contreras Los Angeles County Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO
Francisco Estrada MALDEF
Kathay Feng Asian Pacific American Legal Center
Rosalind Gold NALEO-National Association of Latino Elected & Appointed Officials Educational Fund
Margaret Jakobson Protection & Advocacy
Cynthia Jones Exploding Myths, Inc., President
Laura Kerr California State Student Association
Geoffrey Kors California Alliance for Pride & Equality
Cynthia McClain-Hill NAWBO-National Association of Women Business Owners
Conny McCormack Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk
Eliseo Medina OLAW-Organization of Los Angeles Workers
Chip Nielsen Nielsen, Merksamer, Parrinello, Mueller & Naylor, LLP
Art Pulaski California Labor Federation, AFL-CIO
Ann Reed Shasta County Registrar of Voters
Steve Rodermund Orange County Registrar of Voters
Arturo Rodriguez United Farm Workers of America, AFL-CIO
Marion Taylor League of Women Voters of California
Ted Wang Chinese for Affirmative Action
Dr. Geraldine Washington NAACP