Frequently Asked Questions




Must I have a bond to do business?

Various types of professions need to have a bond on file with the Secretary of State. If you need a bond for filing with the Secretary of State, the bond form is listed on the Forms and Fees page with the corresponding descriptive title.

However, the Secretary of State's office cannot advise you as to whether or not your business must have a bond. If you need assistance in making that determination, and to ensure that all issues are considered and appropriately addressed, you should consult with a private attorney.


Back to Top


If my business has more than one location, are separate bonds required for each address?

Currently, Job Listing Services require a separate bond for each location to be filed with the Secretary of State. All other businesses filing bonds with the Secretary of State are not required to file separate bonds.


Back to Top


Can you recommend a surety company where I may purchase my bond?

You may search for insurance companies or contact the Department of Insurance at (800) 927–4357 for information about companies that are licensed in California to sell surety bonds.


Back to Top


How do I renew my bond?

You should contact your surety bond company to request a renewal or continuation of your surety bond. A renewal or continuation must be filed with the Secretary of State prior to the expiration of the current surety bond. If the renewal or continuation is not filed with the Secretary of State prior to the expiration of the current surety bond, a new surety bond and new qualification is required.


Back to Top


I have a prior conviction. Can I still qualify to be an Immigration Consultant?

A person will be disqualified from acting as an immigration consultant for a felony conviction, failure to disclose an arrest or conviction, or a disqualifying misdemeanor conviction. Please review the Secretary of State's list of Immigration Consultant Disqualifying Convictions for more information.


Back to Top


How much does it cost to get an auctioneer/auction company license?

The Secretary of State does not issue licenses to an auctioneer or auction company. However, there is a requirement to have a $20,000 bond on file with the Secretary of State and the fee for filing that bond is $30.00.


Back to Top

Special Filings




Register To Vote Online

Related Links
Legislation
California Codes
California Regulations
Private Service Companies