Print Version (PDF)


October 24, 2020
SOS Press Office
(916) 653-6575

Secretary of State Padilla Urges Early Voting as Vote Centers Begin to Open in California

SACRAMENTO, CA – Vote centers are opening in several California counties today, including Los Angeles and Sacramento. Californians can drop off their completed vote-by-mail ballots, vote in-person, or take advantage of Same Day voter registration at a vote center. Elections offices in each county are also providing early voting opportunities through Election Day.

Californians can find early vote center locations and official ballot drop boxes at

“California is seeing a surge in early voting and I expect it to continue," Secretary of State Alex Padilla said. "Given the anticipated big voter turnout, along with physical distancing and safety measures at in-person voting locations, there will likely be longer lines and wait times on Election Day. Californians should not wait—they should vote early. Think of November 3rd as simply the last day to vote.”

Over 6.5 million vote-by-mail ballots have already been returned in California. Vote-by-mail return data is available at:

Notable Vote Centers Opening Today:

  • Golden 1 Center in Sacramento
  • Staples Center in Los Angeles
  • Bill Graham Civic Auditorium in San Francisco (open October 24-25, October 31-Novmeber 1, and November 3)
  • The Cow Palace in Daly City (open October 20-24)

Counties implementing the Voter’s Choice Act are typically required to begin opening vote centers 11 days before Election Day. While this requirement was waived for this election due to the COVID-9 pandemic, some Voter’s Choice Act counties are still opening vote centers for the 11 days through Election Day.

The fifteen counties implementing the Voter’s Choice Act are: Amador, Butte, Calaveras, El Dorado, Fresno, Los Angeles, Madera, Mariposa, Napa, Nevada, Orange, Sacramento, San Mateo, Santa Clara, and Tuolumne counties. These counties are home to over half of the state’s registered voters. Vote Centers must open in all of these counties beginning on October 31, 2020 and remain open through Election Day.


Facebook Twitter InstagramYouTube