Print Version (PDF)


April 23, 2019
SOS Press Office
(916) 653-6575

El Dorado County Adopts Voter’s Choice Act for 2020 Elections; 11 Counties Now in For Election Reform

EL DORADO COUNTY, CA – Today the El Dorado County Board of Supervisors voted unanimously to adopt the Voter’s Choice Act for the 2020 elections. Under this modern election model, every registered voter will automatically receive their ballot by mail and have options for how to return their ballot; by mail, to any ballot drop box in the county, or at any vote center in the county convenient to them. Eleven counties, representing half of the state’s registered voters, will use the Voter’s Choice Act in 2020.

“El Dorado now joins 10 other California Counties that will be providing their voters more options for when, where, and how they can cast their ballots in 2020,” Secretary of State Alex Padilla said. “Through the Voter’s Choice Act, counties from north to south will be moving to a more voter centric, community driven model of conducting elections. Mailing every voter a ballot, expanding early voting, and improving access to services such as ‘Same-Day’ voter registration and accessible voting machines will empower more citizens to participate in our democracy.”

The eleven counties implementing the Voter’s Choice Act for 2020 are: El Dorado, Fresno, Los Angeles, Madera, Mariposa, Napa, Nevada, Orange, Sacramento, San Mateo, and Santa Clara. These counties are home to 49.4% of the state’s voters.

The Voters Choice Act (SB 450), sponsored by California Secretary of State Alex Padilla, is a landmark election reform measure signed into law by Governor Jerry Brown in 2016. Five California counties—Madera, Napa, Nevada, Sacramento, and San Mateo—implemented this new model of conducting elections for the first time in 2018. All five counties exceeded the November 2018 statewide turnout rate of 64.5%.


Facebook Twitter InstagramYouTube