Print Version (PDF)


June 14, 2019
SOS Press Office
(916) 653-6575

Butte County Becomes 13th County to Adopt Voter’s Choice Act for 2020 Elections

BUTTE COUNTY, CA – Butte County has adopted the Voter’s Choice Act for the 2020 elections. Under this modern election model, every registered voter will automatically receive their ballot by mail and have options for how to return their ballot: by mail, to any ballot drop box in the county, or at any vote center in the county convenient to them. Thirteen counties, representing over half of the state’s registered voters, will use the Voter’s Choice Act in 2020.

“Butte County voters will have more options for when, where, and how they can cast their ballots in 2020,” Secretary of State Alex Padilla said. “By adopting the Voter’s Choice Act, over half of the state will now have a more voter centric, community driven model of conducting elections. When access to the ballot is increased, we empower more citizens to actively participate in our democracy.”

The 13 counties implementing the Voter’s Choice Act for 2020 are: Amador, Butte, El Dorado, Fresno, Los Angeles, Madera, Mariposa, Napa, Nevada, Orange, Sacramento, San Mateo, and Santa Clara. These counties are home to 50.93 percent of the state’s voters.

The Voters Choice Act (SB 450), sponsored by California Secretary of State Alex Padilla, is a landmark election reform measure signed into law by Governor Jerry Brown in 2016. Five California counties—Madera, Napa, Nevada, Sacramento, and San Mateo—implemented this new model of conducting elections for the first time in 2018. All five counties exceeded the November 2018 statewide turnout rate of 64.5 percent. As noted in SB450, Los Angeles County will implement a slightly different model of the Voter’s Choice Act.


Facebook Twitter InstagramYouTube