Print Version (PDF)




February 17, 2016

CONTACT: Sam Mahood

(916) 653-6575



Secretary of State Padilla Certifies Candidates for Assembly District 31 Special Primary Election


SACRAMENTO Secretary of State Alex Padilla today certified the list of candidates who will appear on the April 5, 2016, Special Primary Election ballot for Assembly District 31. Assembly District 31 is wholly contained within Fresno County. The candidates and their official ballot designations are: 

  • Joaquin Arambula (Party Preference: Democratic) – Emergency Room Doctor
  • Ted Miller (Party Preference: Democratic) – No Ballot Designation
  • Clint Olivier (Party Preference: Republican) – City Councilmember/Author 

The Assembly District 31 special election is being held to fill the vacancy left by the resignation of Henry T. Perea. 

In a special primary, if one candidate receives a majority of the votes cast (at least 50 percent plus one), no additional election is necessary.  If no candidate receives a majority of the votes, a runoff election will be held on June 7, with a ballot featuring the two candidates who received the most votes in the primary, regardless of party preference. 

The official certified list of candidates with contact information is available online: