Print Version (PDF)



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                       

September 24, 2015

CONTACT: Sam Mahood (916) 653-6575


21 members of California Congressional Delegation Urge Governor Brown to sign New Motor Voter Act


SACRAMENTO – This week, 21 members of the California Congressional Delegation sent a letter to Governor Jerry Brown urging him to sign AB 1461—the California New Motor Voter Act. 

The California New Motor Voter Act would register every eligible citizen who goes to a Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office to get a driver’s license or renew one, potentially adding millions of new registered voters to California’s voter rolls. 

In their letter to Governor Brown, the Congressional Delegation wrote: “Given the recent decline in voter turnout in California, passing the New Motor Voter Act is more important than ever and will build upon previous efforts to improve voter participation. It would also make voter registration more efficient, cost effective, and convenient for California citizens.” 

“Voting is the most fundamental right in our democracy -- and we have a fundamental responsibility to make it easier for Americans to exercise it,” House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi said. “California’s New Motor Voter Act will make our democracy stronger by helping millions of citizens make their voices heard in the direction of their government. This vital measure will significantly improve California’s voter registration and participation rates.” 

“Encouraging participation in our political process is the most commonsense way to promote a more representative and effective government,” said U.S. Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-San Jose), Chair of the California Democratic Congressional Delegation. “While other States and jurisdictions have moved to erect barriers to the ballot box, California would do well to move in the right direction by supporting a more inclusive and open democracy.” 

“I thank Leader Nancy Pelosi and the members of the California Congressional Delegation who have signed on to support the New Motor Voter Act,” Secretary of State Alex Padilla said. “The New Motor Voter Act would remove barriers to voting for millions of Californians. As government officials, we have a responsibility to facilitate civic participation and strengthen voting rights.” 

Congressional representatives signing on to the letter to Governor Brown: Zoe Lofgren, Mike Thompson, John Garamedi, Sam Farr, Jim Costa, Jackie Speier, Grace Napolitano, Judy Chu, Scott Peters, Mike Honda, Alan Lowenthal, Eric Swalwell, Jared Huffman, Adam Schiff, Juan Vargas, Julia Brownley, Anna G. Eshoo, Brad Sherman, Karen Bass, and Doris Matsui. 

AB 1461 is sponsored by Secretary of State Alex Padilla and jointly authored by Assemblymembers Lorena Gonzalez (D-San Diego), Luis Alejo (D-Salinas), and Kevin McCarty (D-Sacramento). AB 1461 was passed by the legislature and is currently on Governor Brown’s desk.

Click here to read the letter to Governor Brown.