Print Version (PDF)

October 21, 2014

Contact: Nicole Winger
(916) 653-6575

Candidates Certified for Senate
District 35 Special Primary Election

SACRAMENTO - Secretary of State Debra Bowen today certified the list of candidates who will appear on the December 9 Special Primary Election ballot for the 35th Senate District. The candidates and their official ballot designations are:

  • Louis L. Dominguez (Party Preference: Democratic) – Retired Classroom Teacher
  • Isadore Hall, III (Party Preference: Democratic) – Assemblyman/Reserve Sheriff
  • Hector Serrano (Party Preference: Democratic) – Harbor Planning Commissioner
  • James Spencer (Party Preference: Republican) – Businessman

The Senate District 35 special election is being held to fill the vacancy left by the resignation of Rod Wright.

In a special primary, if one candidate receives a majority of the votes cast (50 percent plus one), no additional election is necessary. If no candidate receives a majority of the votes, a runoff election will be held on February 10, with a ballot featuring the two candidates who received the most votes in the primary, regardless of party preference.

The official certified list of candidates with contact information is at (PDF).