Print Version (PDF)

July 30, 2013

Contact: Shannan Velayas
(916) 653-6575

Secretary of State Bowen Announces
Certified List of 45th Assembly District Candidates

SACRAMENTO - Secretary of State Debra Bowen today announced the certified list of candidates who will appear on the September 17 Special Primary Election ballot for the 45th Assembly District. The candidates and their official ballot designations are:

  • Elizabeth Badger (Party Preference: Democratic) – CEO/Business Owner
  • Damian Carroll (Party Preference: Democratic) – Council Policy Analyst
  • Matt Dababneh (Party Preference: Democratic) – Congressman's Chief Deputy
  • Dennis De Young (Party Preference: Democratic) – Businessman/Financial Consultant
  • Jeff Ebenstein (Party Preference: Democratic) – Councilmember's Valley Director
  • Andra Hoffman (Party Preference: Democratic) – California Government Teacher
  • Dan McCrory (Party Preference: Democratic) – Businessman
  • Armineh Chelebian (Party Preference: Republican) – Accountant/Political Consultant
  • Chris Kolski (Party Preference: Republican) – Professional Engineer/Educator
  • Susan Shelley (Party Preference: Republican) – Author/Publisher
  • Eric Lewis (No Party Preference) – Neighborhood Council President

The Assembly District 45 special election is being held to fill the vacancy left by Bob Blumenfield who resigned after being elected to the Los Angeles City Council.

In a special primary, if one candidate receives a majority of the votes cast (50 percent plus one), no additional election is necessary. If no candidate receives a majority of the votes, a runoff election will be held on November 19 with a ballot featuring the two candidates who received the most votes in the primary, regardless of party preference.

The official certified list of candidates with contact information is at