FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
May 26, 2016
Sam Mahood (916) 653-6575
SACRAMENTO – To ensure all voters can vote on Election Day, June 7, California law provides employees up to two hours off to vote if they do not have enough time to do so during non-work hours.
“Voting is our most fundamental right as American citizens,” Secretary of State Alex Padilla said. “In California your employer cannot deny your right to the ballot box. With the June 7 Primary only 12 days away, working Californians should know that they can take time off to vote, without a loss of pay.”
California Elections Code section 14000 allows workers up to two hours off, without a loss of pay, to vote if they do not have enough time to do so in their non-work hours. The law requires workers to give their employers two working days’ notice before the election if they will need to take time off to vote.
Polling places will be open between 7:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. on Election Day.
Every California employer is required to post, in a visible location, a notice informing employees of their rights at least 10 days before an election. The Secretary of State’s office offers these free, print-ready notices in 10 languages at: http://www.sos.ca.gov/elections/time-vote-notices/